Afton Motorsports Park

Afton Motorsports Park Racing Status and News!

racing status light

Track Status and news!
Join us for Short Track SuperNationals & American Racer Cup Weekend, Oct 6 & Oct 7!
Congratulations 2017 Track Champions: Modified — Andy Bachetti, Open Sportsman — Claude Hutchins Jr., Crate Sportsman — Cody Clark, Street Stock — Damon Decker & 4 Cyl Trucks — Ralph Cuozzo!

American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals 10 "Working Man's Race" Registration Open, Rules & Pricing Set for Afton Motorsports Park Oct. 6-7

by Brett Deyo

Short Track SuperNationals Logo AFTON, NY — If the 10th anniversary Short Track SuperNationals wasn't enough, Columbus Day weekend (October 6-7) at Afton Motorsports Park will be even more exciting for fans and lucrative for racers.

Thanks to American Racer, regional distributor Lias Tire of Indiana, Pa., and Sunoco Race Fuels, area track champions will have the opportunity to face off at the fairgrounds facility.

The American Racer Cup weekend and Short Track SuperNationals have merged for one huge weekend event in 2017.

All American Racer Cup presented by Sunoco Modified champions have been extended invitations for Match Races on the Short Track SuperNationals Saturday portion (October 7). Drivers participating in the Match Races will receive a certificate for a FREE American Racer tire.

Latest news about "The Working Man's Race" - Continued >>

American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals 10 ~ Forms

Below are camping and registration forms for the American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals 10!

[Modified Entry Form] [Sportsman Entry Form] [Reserved Camping Form]

American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals 10 "Working Man's Race" Registration Open, Rules & Pricing Set for Afton Motorsports Park Oct. 6-7

by Brett Deyo

AFTON, NY — September 8, 2017 — For the 10th consecutive year, the Short Track SuperNationals serves as an affordable option for racers on Columbus Day weekend.

The "Working Man's Race" as it is appropriately known has provided a decade's worth of opportunities for weekend warriors — Friday, Saturday and Sunday racers — with big paydays and unprecedented headlines.

The event, now partnered with the American Racer Cup weekend, celebrates its 10th anniversary on October 6-7 at Afton Motorsports Park, the very same facility that hosted the first back in 2006.

More about "The Working Man's Race" - Continued >>

Rock Auto Discount

Save on parts with a discount at

Friday, September 1, 2017 Racing ~ ZMK Construction & Wagner Nineveh Championship Night ~ Quick Results

ZMK Construction Modifieds Winner Nick Nye
Nick Nye wins the modified class on 09/01/2017 image

Scorpion Security Products Open Sportsman Winner Claude Hutchings Jr.
Claude Hutchings Jr. wins in the Open Sportsman class on 09/01/2017 image

Ted's Body Shop Crate Sportsman Winner Allan Hodge
Allan Hodge wins in the Crate Sportsman class on 09/01/2017 image

Auto Plus Street Stocks Winner Matt Bowman
Matt Bowman wins in the Street Stock class on 09/01/2017 image

Chambers & O'Hara 4 Cylinder Trucks Winner Ralph Cuozzo
Ralph Cuozzo wins in the 4 cylinder truck class on 09/01/2017 image

Images © SJS Photo,
visit the SJS Photo website
to view all racing images.
Click on image for larger version.
Afton, NY — The final night of points, otherwise known as championship night brought the weekly racing curtain down for the 2017 racing season at the Afton Motorsports Park. The racers were greeted with an all new clay racing surface that was applied during the week in the corners by Mike Ford of ZMK Construction.

Nick Nye has been knocking on the door for a feature win all season long and tonight he put it all together in the Randy Metcalf owned car as he dominated the 30 lap Modified feature for his first win of the year. Nye took the lead on lap 10 from Paul Jensen and was never headed after that. Alan Barker, Jensen, track champion Andy Bachetti, and JR Hurlburt completed the top five.

Claude Hutchings, Jr. won the 20 lap Open Sportsman feature to win the track championship. He took the lead on lap 17 from Don Hart, Jr. and went on to the win over Hart, Craig Pope, Aaron Shelton, and Travis Smith.

Allan Hodge won the 20 lap Crate Sportsman feature, Hodge inherited the lead when leader Cody Clark was penalized one spot for rough riding during a lap 13 yellow flag period. Hodge and Clark battled tooth and nail over the final seven laps with Hodge taking the win by a couple of feet over track champion Clark, Matt Cole, AJ Digsby, and Tim French II rounded out the top five.

Matt Bowman wheeling the Polhamus Motorsports entry won the 20 lap Street Stock feature. Despite leading the entire distance Bowman withstood the race long challenges of Shane Wolf, Jr. who ended up second, Dustin Harris, track champion Damon Decker, and Fred Christ rounded out the top five.

Just signing in to race Ralph Cuozzo won the Four Cylinder Truck track championship. Ralph then he went out and won the 12 lap feature as he took the lead on lap five from Bob Crandall, Brandon Clapperton, Pete Christensen, and Jeff Young completed the top five.

09/01/2017 Recap - Continued >>

Final Points as of 09/01/2017:
[Modified Points] [Sportsman Points] [Crate Sportsman Points] [Street Stock Points] [4 Cyl Truck Points]

ZMK Construction Modifieds, 17 cars, 30 laps:

Nick Nye, Alan Barker, Paul Jensen, Andy Bachetti, JR Hurlburt, Mitch Gibbs, Brett Tonkin, Rusty Smith, Alex Tonkin, Steve Babicek

Track Champion — Andy Bachetti

Scorpion Security Products Open Sportsman, 18 cars, 20 laps:

Claude Hutchings, Jr., Don Hart, Jr., Craig Pope, Aaron Shelton, Travis Smith, Dennis Clapperton, Dave Rosa, Butch Klinger, Tyler Hart, Steve Andersen

Track Champion — Claude Hutchings, Jr.

Ted's Body Shop Crate Sportsman, 20 cars, 20 laps:

Allan Hodge, Cody Clark, Matt Cole, AJ Digsby, Tim French II, Harold Humphrey, Kailee DiMorier, Matt Brewer, Blaine Klinger, Mike Talmedge

Track Champion — Cody Clark

Auto Plus Street Stocks, 12 cars, 20 laps:

Matt Bowman, Shane Wolf, Jr., Dustin Harris, Damon Decker, Fred Christ, Ralph Cuozzo, David Stalker, Ernie Staelens, Jonathon Fowlston, Doug Polhamus

Track Champion — Damon Decker

Chambers & O'Hara Four Cylinder Trucks, 9 cars, 12 laps:

Ralph Cuozzo, Bob Crandall, Brandon Clapperton, Pete Christensen, Jeff Young

Track Champion — Ralph Cuozzo

Welcome to the Afton Motorsports Website!

First off let's get you all acquainted with us. We are Ronnie Ford and Leon Andrus and are the new promoters of Afton Motorsports Park, formally known as I-88 Speedway located on the Afton Fairgrounds. We are ready to get started and are working hard to secure sponsors and working on a full race schedule that will be official around the end of January.

Welcome to the Afton Motorsports Website! - Continued >>

Afton Motorsports Park Classes